Song for the Day (July 15, 2013): Slowcoaster – Flip Flops

Slowcoaster is a band from Cape Breton featuring Steven MacDougall (Guitar/Vocals), Mike Lelievre (Bass/Vocals) and Brian Talbot (Drums/Vocals).  They have five studio albums, including 2010’s Darkest of Discos.  Last year Slowcoaster recorded and released what could only be described as the “song of summer 2012”.

“Flip Flops” is a song about heading to the beach with friends.   I (like many others in Nova Scotia) spent some time at the beach this past weekend and have been singing “Flip Flops” ever since.  Written by Steven MacDougallJenny MacDonald and Brandon Johnson this infectious tune is sure to be a favourite again this summer.

Lyrics (or as close as I can tell)

I fell asleep on the beach last night
I think I left an angel in the sand
Drank some drinks, sang some songs and felt alright
And baby I can do it all again
Yeah, baby I can do it all again

Chorus:
Grab your flipflops, and your boom box and two coolers of ice
We hit up the same spot, where it’s so hot and the water feels so nice
Steal a tiki torch from your mamas porch, we ‘aint gonna bring it back
‘Cause when the sun comes up my friends, we’re doing this again

I fell asleep to the sound of the waves last night
I think I heard a mermaid call my name
Her hair was long and her eyes were extra bright
And baby I won’t ever be the same
No, baby I won’t ever be the same

Grab your flipflops, and your boom box and two coolers of ice
We hit up the same spot, where it’s so hot and the water feels so nice
Steal a tiki torch from your mamas porch, we ‘aint gonna bring it back
‘Cause when the sun comes up my friends,
Yeah when the sun comes up my friends
We’re doing this again

yeah yeah
we’re doing this again

I fell asleep in her arms last night
She held me like the ocean holds the wind
If I could go back to that summer night
I’d take off all my clothes and jump right in
Yeah, I’d take off all my clothes and jump right in

Grab your flipflops, and your boom box and two coolers of ice
We hit up the same spot, where it’s so hot and the water feels so nice
Steal a tiki torch from your mamas porch, we ‘aint gonna bring it back
‘Cause when the sun comes up my friends
Grab your flipflops, and your boom box and two coolers of ice
We hit up the same spot, where it’s so hot and the water feels so nice
Steal a tiki torch from your mamas porch, we ‘aint gonna bring it back
‘Cause when the sun comes up my friends,
Yeah when the sun comes up my friends
Yeah when the sun comes up my friends
We’re doing this again

For more about Slowcoaster:
Slowcoaster on Facebook
Slowcoaster on Twitter
 

Leave a Reply

