10 Questions With E.B. Anderson (of E.B. Anderson & The Resolutes)

 

E B Anderson (taken by Ed Boulter)

E.B Anderson
(photo by Ed Boulter)

EB Anderson & the Resolutes hail from Trento, Nova Scotia.   The band features long-time friends EB Anderson (vocals, guitars, fiddle, mandolin), Rob Anderson (harmony vocals, guitars), Stephen MacNeil (upright and electric bass) and Derek Thomas (drums and percussion).  Their music is a mix of styles from prewar folk & blues to vintage country & rockabilly. 

EB Anderson & the Resolutes recently released their second full length album Broken Down Horse.  You can listen to “Seven Comes Eleven”, from Broken Down Horse, at the end of this post. 

EB Anderson & the Resolutes will be performing at The Dutch Mason Festival in August.  I recently had an opportunity to catch up with E.B. Anderson for  “10 Questions With…”.

1. When did you first decide you wanted to be a musician?

I can remember being about 6 or 7 years old and going out into our porch, putting on the record player or the radio and playing air guitar to whatever was on. So I guess in some way probably since then. I’ve played guitar since the 6th grade, played in a few bands in high school, then became what my parents dubbed as a “bedroom rockstar.” A few years ago I really started to take it more seriously, writing songs seriously and actually working up the nerve to play them for people.

2. Who are your biggest musical influences?

So many I probably can’t even remember half of them. The biggest one, the one that really started pushing me to write songs is probably Townes Van Zandt. His lyric writing is just unparalleled. I also really love Hank Williams, Gram Parsons, Lefty Frizell, Steve Earle, Guy Clark, The Band, Lightning Hopkins, Stevie Ray Vaughan…. I could go on and on with this so I’ll stop now.

3. What is your all-time favourite song/album?

That changes on a regular basis. At the moment for album it’s probably Townes Van Zandt Live at The Old Quarter, because that’s what I’m listening to. My favourite song of all time… that’s tough. “Wheels” by Gram Parsons is up there for me. Most anything by AC/DC.

4. What has been your favourite moment as a member of E.B. Anderson & The Resolutes?

Probably opening up for and hanging out with Matt Andersen at the Jubilee in New Glasgow. That dude is amazing live. And a super nice guy to boot.

5. Who have you worked with that you never imagined you would have the opportunity?

Matt Andersen, again, was a great experience. That night was also with Kim Mitchell and The Stanfields, and Dave Gunning. Dave is an amazing guy. We were actually going to record at his place but could never get the time and logistics lined up. At Dutch Mason last year we played the same night as The Sheepdogs and The Georgia Sattelites. We also played a great show once with Carson Downey that was awesome for me. I once snuck into a bar underage in New Glasgow to see Carson play. So to actually share the stage with him was pretty cool. We’ve met a lot of cool people that we never would have otherwise.

6. What would your dream concert/festival line-up look like?

Townes Van Zandt, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Gram Parsons and Lightning Hopkins open for The Band. With an Encore featuring a Hank Williams duet with George Jones. Everyone would get together to sing “Highway To Hell” with AC/DC for the second encore. Oh and of course we would be there somewhere. Playing in the parking lot maybe.

7. Where would you like to tour?

I’d love to tour the Southern US. I feel like our music would go over well there. I’d also love to tour Europe. I’d just like to go there. Getting to play would be a bonus.

8. If you could invite two people to sit in with the band (living or dead), who would they be and why?

Levon Helm and Stevie Ray Vaughan. Levon because he was a hell of a drummer and he was cooler than ice.  Stevie because he was my guitar idol while I was growing up. I was mostly into metal/punk until getting into SRV. That kind of lead me to where I am today.

9. If you weren’t a musician, what would you be doing?

I have a Bachelors in Education, so I’d probably be an out of work teacher.

 10. Where do you see yourselves in 20 years?

I’m 29 now, so I’ll be 49 then. Hopefully still making music. Well I’m sure I’ll still be making music, whether anyone will be listening or not is a whole other thing. I love music too much to abandon it entirely, so in some way or another I’ll always be involved in music. Hopefully people will still be interested in hearing it. Otherwise I’ll probably be some 49 year old dude playing guitar in his basement in his underwear driving my wife crazy.

Leave a Reply

