Music Nova Scotia 2013 Award Winners


The Music Nova Scotia awards were handed out on Sunday, November 10th in Sydney.  Classified won four awards, while Matt Mays and Mo Kenney each won three awards.

The Halifax Musicphile congratulates all the winners and nominees.  Here is the full list of winners:

 Presented at The NSLC Gala Awards Show:
New Artist Recording of the Year – Mo Kenney, Mo Kenney
Music Video of the Year – Classified/RT!, Inner Ninja
Male Artist Recording of the Year – Matt Mays, Coyote
Female Artist Recording of the Year – Mo Kenney, Mo Kenney
SOCAN Songwriter of the Year – Classified, Inner Ninja – Written by Luke Boyd, Mike Boyd, David Myles, Mark Pellizzer
Group Recording of the Year – The Stanfields, Death & Taxes 
Recording of the Year – Matt Mays, Coyote
Music Nova Scotia Entertainer of the Year – The Stanfields
Presented at the Music & Industry Awards Brunch:
Alternative Recording of the Year – The Tom Fun Orchestra, Earthworm Heart
Blues Recording of the Year – Thom Swift, The Fortunate Few
Children’s Recording of the Year – Little Miss Moffat – Wild About Nature
Country/Bluegrass Recording of the Year – Ryan Cook, Wrestling With Demons
DJ of the Year – Skratch Bastid
Digital Artist of the Year – Classified
Electronic Recording of the Year – Scientists of Sound, Electric Scissors
Folk Recording of the Year (Tie) – Dave Gunning, No More Pennies, Old Man Luedecke, Tender Is The Night
Francophone Recording of the Year – Maxim Cormier, Maxim Cormier 
Hip Hop Recording of the Year – Classified, Classified
Inspirational Recording of the Year – Elizabeth Deveau, Everything’s Changed
Jazz Recording of the Year – Swingology, Taking A Chance
Loud Recording of the Year – Black Moor, Lethal Waters
Musician of the Year – Erin Costelo
Rock Recording of the Year – Matt Mays, Coyote
Traditional/Roots Recording of the Year – Mary Jane Lamond and Wendy MacIsaac – Seinn
Booking Agent of the Year – Jason MacIsaac, JJ Bookings
Community Presenter of the Year – Lunenburg Folk Harbour Festival
Company of the Year – Sonic Entertainment Group
Corporate Sponsor of the Year – Casino Nova Scotia
Educator of the Year (Tie) – Erin Costelo, Keith Mullins
Event of the Year – Halifax Pop Explosion
Industry Professional of the Year – Josh White, Halifax Pop Explosion
Manager of the Year – Sheri Jones
Media Professional of the Year – Stephen Cooke, The Chronicle Herald
Promoter of the Year – Mike Campbell
Production Company of the Year – GroundSound
Producer Of The Year – Daniel Ledwell
Publicist of the Year – Matt Charlton, Pigeon Row
Radio Program of the Year – Halifax Is Burning, CKDU 88.1 FM
Radio Station of the Year – CBC
Recording Studio of the Year – The Sonic Temple Recording Studio
Studio Engineer Of The Year – Charles Austin
Technician of the Year – Stephen “Snickers” Smith
Venue of the Year – The Company House
Visual Artist of the Year – Mat Dunlap
Volunteer of the Year – Dana Beeler

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s