CD Review: Magnolia – Magnolia

Magnolia‘s debut self-titled EP features flowing jazz flavoured music coupled with silky smooth vocals – a combination that gives Magnolia a timeless quality.

Magnolia is a Halifax-based duo consisting of Leanne Hoffman (vocals) and Scott MacLean (guitar/vocals).  The band’s debut self-titled EP was released in November and was produced by 2013 Music Nova Scotia “Musician of the Year” Erin Costelo – who also plays keyboards on the EP. 

Magnolia: Scott MacLean, Leanne Hoffman
(photo by Steven Gill)

To record the album, Magnolia enlisted Clive MacNutt (bass) and Ben Ross (drums), while (former Black Pool member) Phil Sedore contributed cello, trombone and lap steel.

The result is a mellow, heartfelt offering that leaves the listener wanting to hear more from this new band.

Track Listing
1. Anyone’s Neighbour
2. Wandering
3. Time Will Tell
4. Honey Please
5. The Thought Of Love
6. Cold Dry Hands

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s