From a January 2013 Post – Concert Review from the Concert where I First Heard “Clothes Off”

In anticipation of the release of “Clothes Off” by Ria Mae tomorrow, I thought I would share an excerpt of a concert review from the first time I heard the song. 

Title: In The Dead Of Winter Music Festival (Day 1): A Night of Exceptional Music at the Company House

 

 Ria Mae

Let me start by saying that I love Ria Mae’s music.  I know, I know, I’m not the only one.  Mae’s debut full-length album, Under Your Skin, won the 2012 East Coast Music Award for Pop Recording of the Year, and her latest single “Leaving Today” is nominated as Song of the Year at the 2013 East Coast Music Awards.

Prior to Thursday night, I had never seen Mae play live.  Because of this, hers was my most anticipated performance at this years In The Dead of Winter festival.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Margot Durling, Ria Mae & Mo Kenney

The wait was worth it.  While watching Mae perform (accompanied by Margot Durling, who provided”perfect harmony” ), I kept wondering “how is she not an international star?”

Mae combines Jonny Rotten attitude with Sarah McLachlan vocals.  It is a fascinating combination. Add to this a stand up comedy routine that would allow Mae to headline a comedy festival and being accompanied on stage by some marvellous musicians,  and I was left with a show that I never wanted to see end.  Mae finished her show to rousing applause.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ria Mae, Margot Durling with Folly & The Hunter

Aside from being joined by Durling,  Mae was joined on-stage for “Under Your Skin” by Nova Scotia’s “next big thing” Mo Kenney (whose debut album was released last year to critical acclaim).  Mae was also joined by Ambition (“Take Your Clothes Off”), Natasha Peach (“Leaving Today”) and Folly & The Hunter (“Titanium”).    It was the perfect way to end this exceptional first night of the IDOW festival.

Thursday night at The Company House was Mae’s only IDOW performance this year.

Here are a couple of videos from Mae’s performance (“Under Your Skin” & “Leaving Today”):

 

Leave a Reply

